Liquid Eyeliner Routine

For ages, I was terrified to do winged liners, purely because I knew I would mess up and ruin my entire eye look. So, I avoided them for a long period of time but eventually, I started to try and trust me when I say they were awful to begin with, and took a lot of practice to get it right. I know I’m making it out to sound like a massive deal when it’s just makeup but there really is a great feeling of satisfaction when you complete a perfect wing.

So, here is my step by step on how I achieve my winged eyeliner.

Note to self – I almost never perfect my eyeliner every time I apply it. My wings are very unpredictable. Sometimes they’ll come out more curved, sometimes more straight and others it completely messes up. But that’s the beauty of makeup, you can just take it off if it goes wrong.

Love, Chloe

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Step 1: I work my way from the outside of the wing first. Using a very small liner brush, I draw a line from the outer corner of my eye to the angle and length that I want my wing to be. There’s no real guarantee of getting the wings identical unless you use tape or other forms of guidelines, but I find it much easier to free hand.

Step 1

Step 2: This bit took some getting used to, simply because the movement felt wrong and my hand struggled to start with. I begin to draw a line from the outer corner of my eye to the center, forming the shape of the wing.Step 2

Step 3: I then draw a line from the inner corner of the eye to the center of the eye. This often won’t line up perfectly with the rest of the wing but can be easily fixed later. You can draw your lines as thin or thick as you want. I tend to draw mine as thin as possible because I have hooded eyes.Step 3

Step 4: Following the outer line, I reconnect it to the inner line (if necessary), to make sure that the line is straight. I then fill in the wing and perfect any little areas that need it. If any lines are not straight or how you want them to be, you can always go in with concealer on a small brush to clean it up. Step 4Step 4.2

Eyeliner used: NYC Liquid Liner.

Leave a Reply

