Would Things Be Different?

Going to my friends’ show on Thursday really made me miss being creative. I used to do drama in GCSE and it was my best grade along with maths. I’ve always loved singing and dancing (not that I’m any good at either) and it made me wonder what my life would have been like if I continued down that path.

I wanted to continue with drama in A level but it clashed with geography which was my favourite subject. I was gutted for a while but I got past it. Now, seeing my friends show made me wish I had continued and been more involved in school productions. Emily would regularly ask me to get involved but I think I may have used the ‘stage fright’ excuse one too many times. The closest I’ve been to a show is my primary school’s production of Alice in Wonderland, where I played middle sized Alice (it wasn’t very good and I can’t say that I was fit for the role).

If I had stuck to the arts I wonder where I’d be and what I’d be doing. Would I be studying in university doing a relative course or something completely different?Or would I not be doing anything at all. It’s always weird thinking about how your life would change if you were to go down a different path. I’m not saying i regret all my life choices thus far, more along the lines of I wish I had done just that little bit more.

We can’t change the past, but we can learn from it and change our future. Moral of the story is to never lose touch of the things you enjoy. If you want to get back into something, there’s nothing stopping you but yourself. For me, after being away from the arts for so long, I think I’ll start with a salsa class or two.

Love, Chloe

Leave a Reply

