NYE Inspired Glam

I pretty much do the same make up every New Year’s eve and it always involves going big and going glittery with a full face of makeup to last me through the night. I put together a makeup look inspired by the New Year. This is just an idea that you could use to fuel some inspiration, to recreate or just as an idea for a future event you might want to wear it do.

Welcome to 2017!

Love, Chloe

  1. Eyebrows

I use 3 products on my eyebrows. The Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Definer in Ebony, Dipbrow pomade in Ebony and the Clear Brow Gel. Brows are different for everyone. For me, they are quite a statement part of my make-up so I tend to take my time filling them in. This doesn’t mean you have to fill them in or do anything to them if you don’t want to.  When doing my brows, I shape them first with the brow definer, then I will fill them in with the Dipbrow. I’ll make sure that when dipping in the product I start at the tail of my brow where I want the most product to be, then as the product gets less on the brush I’ll move towards the front of the brow. I make sure to brush them out with the spoolie to create a gradient. Once they are done I’ll carve them out with any concealer and a brush and then set them with the brow gel.

  1. Eyes

When doing an eye look that involves lots of glitter and different shadows, I tend to do my eyes first, so that I can clean up any fall out before doing the rest of my face. You don’t have to do this, you can also do your face makeup first then place a few layers of translucent powder under the eyes (baking) which will catch the fall out and then can be swept away. Before putting on shadows I use a concealer to cover my lids, acting as an eyeshadow base, then set that with any light shadow. I started with a few lighter transition shades in the Morphe 35O palette. Then I worked my way through darker colours in my crease to create dimension. The darker the shade, the lower down in my crease I will place it. I go back and forth between lighter and darker shades to make sure there is an easy transition in the crease with no harsh lines. Then I took a concealer with a flat brush and carved out my crease, giving the cut crease effect. I have hooded eyes so I create a new crease by carving out just above my natural crease. I then set the concealer with any white/light eyeshadow in order to make sure that it doesn’t move around. For my base before the glitter, I put Mac ‘Nylon” eyeshadow on the area which I just carved out. I then went in with my NYC liquid liner and drew my wing where I wanted it to be. I do this before the glitter because once the glitter is on, it’s harder to draw the perfect winged liner. I then used a flat brush and the Too Faced shadow insurance glitter glue and placed it on the lid. I then topped it with my Urban Decay Heavy Metal glitter in the shade Distortion. I then went over the eyeliner one more time. I went back in with a few of the shadows I used in order to make sure there was a transition with the glitter and the crease colours.

  1. Priming

It’s important to prime your skin when doing makeup that needs to last all night. It will not only help keep the makeup on, but it will make application of foundation etc so much smoother. I moisturised my face with the Body Shop Tea tree pore moisturiser and then went in with the Benefit porefessional primer.

  1. Foundation and Concealer

Once the primer had set in I took the NYX colour corrector in orange and covered up my dark areas under my eyes and around my mouth. I then went in with my L’Oreal True Match foundation in the shade Cappuccino. I blended it with a Kabuki brush and went over it with the beauty blender to take up any excess foundation and to make sure all of the colour corrector is covered. I layered this a few times to give that full coverage effect. I then went in with the Urban Decay Naked Weightless concealer under my eyes and under my cheek bones and blended it out with the beauty blender.

  1. Baking

This is all optional but I tend to bake when I’m doing my makeup to last all night. I took any translucent powder (a healthy amount) on the beauty blender and placed it under my eyes and along my cheekbones. I left it there for about 5-10 minutes to “bake” then brushed the excess powder away.

  1. Contour and Highlight

I went in with my Kat Von D shade and light contour palette with a real techniques brush and bronzed my cheekbones, jawline and around my forehead. I then went in with the lighter shade in the palette and placed it under my eyes and below my cheekbones to ‘carve’ them out. I then went in with the bronze blush shade in the Sleek Contour Medium palette and placed it along the apples of my cheeks. Finally, I went in with the Becca Cosmetics x Jaclyn Hill highlighter in Champagne pop and placed it along the high points of my cheek, inner corners of my eye, the cupid’s bow, the bridge and tip of my nose and just on my brow bone.

  1. Lower Lash Line and Lashes

First I lined my lower lashline with a black eyeliner and blended it out with a brush. I then went in with a pencil brush and the darker shades that I used on my lid and blended them out on my lower lashline to create a Smokey effect. I then went in with my Ardell lashes in Demi-wispies and some DUO lash glue. I then went over my eyeliner one last time to make sure it was as black as it could be.

  1. Lipstick

I used to line my lips then use my liquid lipstick, but a lot of the time now I just go straight in with the liquid lipstick as they tend to have an applicator that’s quite easy to use. I used the Jeffree Star liquid lipstick in Designer Blood for this look. It’s a deep red shade with a tint of gold.

  1. Setting Spray

The last step is important to keeping your makeup on all night. I went in with the NYX matte finishing spray (a lot of it) to make sure my makeup stays on all night.

20170101_150652000_ios20170101_145515000_ios

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “NYE Inspired Glam

Leave a Reply

