New Year, Same Me

Every year I make the same New Year’s resolutions like eating healthier, doing more work, buying less makeup etc and every year I never stick to them. It’s only now that I realised that I’m making the wrong approach. So this year, rather than making resolutions of what I will do in the New year, I’m making resolutions to help me become the happiest me I can be for many years to come.

I hope 2017 brings you all joy,

Happy New Year,

Love, Chloe

  1. Stop stressing over work.
  • I’m one of those people who constantly stress over getting good grades and doing well in school and university and it often causes me to stress to the point where I’m unhappy and wishing for it to all be over, as well as contemplating what I’ve done with my life for the past few years.
  • This year I’m thinking differently. Yes, it’s good to aim for the best you can do when it comes to Uni/school but grades aren’t everything. Don’t push yourself so hard that all you ever do is work. For me, I’m constantly worried about getting a good degree mark, therefore when it comes to exams I try and cram in so much stuff that I forget why I’m even studying it. It’s so important to have a balance in life to keep you happy and healthy. This means taking days off work or revision to watch movies or see your friends. You don’t want to be working so hard that you start to hate what you’re doing. A degree is a degree. It doesn’t define you as a person. A degree is helpful for many jobs, yes, but at the end of the day, it’s not a requirement to live your life to its full potential. So if you’re like me and stress a lot, try and think about the bigger picture. Life will go on even if you don’t get a 1st-grade mark in your exams. All you can do is try your best with the situation you have.
  1. Save more money.
  • This may be a typical resolution but it means a lot to me. All I’ve ever wanted to do it travel around the world, and I’ve been so blessed with a number of opportunities my parents have given me so far. But, now it’s time for me to take over. I’m an adult now and I need to start saving my own money so that I can do what I want with it. I plan on travelling as much as possible, and in the new year, I want to save up for my future adventures around the world. It’ll be hard considering every time I have money I tend to spend it on makeup or food, but I’ll give it my best shot.
  1. Spend more time with friends and family.
  • I spend a lot of time with my friends and family anyway, but I think this year has really hit me on how much they mean to me. So many iconic legends have passed away this year that I can’t help but think of how anything can happen to any one of us. I hate thinking of death, but with all these incidents it’s hard not to. I want to make the most of the moments I have with my friends and family and appreciate all that they do for me. This is more of a given, but sometimes it takes a kick in the face to realise that all the little arguments you have now and then are really nothing compared to all the good times you have.

Best Moments of 2016

If there’s one thing I love, it’s looking back at old photos and reminiscing on times I’ve had. 2016 was a pretty good year for me and I’m hoping 2017 will be even better! So here’s a few of my favourite moments of 2016 (almost all will probably be about travelling):

  1. South Africa – It was mine and my boyfriend’s (shout out to Rhys) first proper holiday abroad together and I was so happy that I got to take him to my home city Cape Town to meet all my family and experience the city. It was one of my favourite holidays to date and I’m so happy I got the chance to see all my family again and have Rhys beside me. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
  2. Amsterdam – I was so happy to go back to Amsterdam this year. It’s one of my favourite cities and I got to go with my oldest friend Sam (previously mentioned in my inter-railing blog and my biggest fan – Hi Sam). We had one of the best trips and would 100% go back there again together in the future! We got to do all the touristy stuff because it was Sam’s first time as well as just exploring. Not to mention the bar crawl and stumbling back to our hostel at 6 am.19
  3. Seeing My Best Friend’s Shows – Emily has had a pretty successful year for her acting career and these were definitely some of my favourite moments. Emily is my best friend and we spend the longest times away from each other because we’re both so busy. So the days I get to go and see her shows are also the days I get to spend time with her and catch-up with her. I tend to miss her a lot.20160621_145134000_ios
  4. Rhys’ Birthday Weekend – For Rhys’ 20th birthday present this year I took him away on a mini-break to a little village in Cornwall. We had the most amazing time, it was so peaceful and quiet and the perfect break from university deadlines. Our little hut overlooked the sea and was hidden away in its own little forest. Bliss.Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
  5. Starting This Blog – I was so hesitant about starting this blog because I didn’t know if I would be any good or if I’d have enough content to write about. I had been wanting to write it for a while and I’m so glad I did. I have such an amazing support system of family and friends that all tell me if they’re enjoying my posts. Starting the blog has given me an escape from all the work and stress of life and it’s particularly therapeutic.

 

Leave a Reply

